test 2

The task is to produce a spectacle artefact between 1-3 minutes long. There are only two obstructions this week:

  • You MUST take your inspiration from one of the propositions in Guy Debords ‘Society of the Spectacle’ or from the ideas of Jean Baudrillard
  • It does not have to be a technical exercise.

Attempting to read Debords and Baudrillard was a trying task in itself. As I am dyslexic, I found it extremely difficult to understand any of what they were saying. One quote from Baudrillard did stand out at me though, “When everything is taken away, nothing is left”. It was this that helped me think of an idea for my artefact. The way I interpreted this quote is easier if I put it into the context of my idea. The Ukrainian government is…less than impressive. Our president, Yanukovych, is an ex-con who is very friendly with Putin and co. I interpreted the spectacle being the Ukrainian government/parliament, as they continually bribe their way to the top[1], make terrible decisions to push us closer to Russia[2] and start fistfights in parliament[3]. The quote comes into mirror that image of the government taking anything vaguely credible that Ukraine stands for and slowly degrading the country and people until there is nothing more for them to take.

 

img346288

 Image writing: Знищення мови- знищення батьківщини.

Translation: Destroy the language- destroy the country.

Original idea:
My original idea was that I would get a blank mask and take photos. With each set of photos I would add another word that has a relation to the Ukrainian government onto the mask. The words were: greed, politics, silence, society and money. I felt that this wouldn’t get across my message so I decided to adapt it.

Adapted idea:
Along with the mask and the writing I would use photos and videos from various websites to help get my point across so my interpretation becomes clearer.

Bibliography

[1] Interfax-Ukraine (2012). Observers of parliamentary elections in Ukraine from ENEMO speak out against bribing voters. [ONLINE] Available at: https://www.kyivpost.com/content/politics/observers-of-parliamentary-elections-in-ukraine-from-enemo-speak-out-against-bribing-voters-312806.html

[2] Interfax-Ukraine (2012). Yanukovych signs language bill into law. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.kyivpost.com/content/ukraine/yanukovych-signs-language-bill-into-law-311230.html

[3] BBC (2013). MPs throw punches in Ukraine parliament brawl. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-21842617

Amiel Ungar (2012). Ukranian Parliament Fisticuffs Highlight Linguistic Divide. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.israelnationalnews.com/News/News.aspx/156270#.UpYOiRY9WJU

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

