research (test)

POWER. Research (2013-10-22 13:10)

After deciding on the idea that I was going to find famous quotes from history, film and TV I then decided on how I was going to present my power artefact. I was going to record myself writing the quotes on paper with no sound or backing track. This would make you focus on the words more instead of being distracted by anything else, giving the words a more powerful presence.

page13image19168

I looked into whether this had been done in the past where I could get some more inspiration from and there were two occasions that stood out at me. The first is an artist called Gillian Wearing. By using photography she recorded the confessions of ordinary people, studying the differences between private and public life. An interesting approach to something that’s quite simplistic. By making the person write something about their private life on the paper they have openly shown their insecurities, opening them up to mocking or humiliation. By doing this it also give the subject a sense of power by being confident in what they have written and not shying away.

The other piece that stood out was Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues (1965). This is a music video to his song and while the song plays in the background he is standing showing cards with some of the lyrics on them. I believe that the lyrics that were written down were the most important ones that Bob Dylan wanted you to focus on the most.

Bob Dylan – Subterranean Homesick Blues (1965)

When researching different quotes I decided to choose the most iconic ones which I knew and which held the most power in my eyes. From memory I wrote down seven which I thought were some of the most powerful lines in history and then searched the internet for the other two quotes. Here is a PDF of all of the quotes: Famous quotes from history, film and TV

Photos:
John-Paul Stonard. (2001). Gillian Wearing – Artist biography. Available:

http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/gilli an-wearing-obe-2648

Gillian Wearing. (1992). I have been certified as mildly insane. Available: [6]http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/wear- ing-i-have-been-certi fied-as-mildly-insane-p78352

Gillian Wearing. (1992). I like to be in the country. Available: [7]http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/wear ing-i-like-to-be-in-the-country-p78349

Video:

Bob Dylan. (1965). Subterranean Homesick Blues. Available: [8]http://en.musicplayon.com/play?v=461198

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

