Task 3 – Modern Day Fairytale or Myth

Most people would have gone with the typical ‘Disney’ fairytale e.g. snow white. I wanted to stand out a little more and go for something which some people might not have heard of. I decided to talk to a friend of mine who is interested by Greek mythology and he told me about a number of different myths. Some, like The story of Troy, were just too long to make into a 3 – 4 minute piece. He told me about the myth of Narcissus. He send me this very brief description of the myth:

The Myth of Narcissus
– The son of a river God and a nymph
– Extremely good looking
– A prophet told Narcissus’ mother that her son would enjoy a long life as long as he never knew himself or saw his reflection.
– Many women and men fell in love with him.
– He rejected all of them.
– One of his admirers was Ameinias, he was so devastated by Narcissus’s indifference toward him that he killed himself.
– Before doing so, Ameinias called on the gods to punish Narcissus.
– They caused Narcissus to gaze into a pond at his reflection.
– He fell in love with his own image and drowned trying to touch it.

I’ve been trying to think about how I could do this as a modern myth and how I’m going to present it.

I thought about doing it on Facebook and screen recording it. But there’s only so much of the story I can do like that because you can’t show someone dying on Facebook.
My Idea
Narcissus makes a Facebook account and he is updating his profile when a girl called Echo sets up her own account and adds Narcissus. Echo starts to comment on Narcissus’ pictures. Narcissus deletes one of the post and ignores some of them but he replies to one of the comments on a photo and the second time Echo posts on his wall. He comments on the wall post and tells her to basically leave him alone. After the Facebook screen recording I will edit photos using Photoshop to show how Narcissus dies.

After rejecting Echo, Narcissus spent hours on Facebook staring at his own picture. He couldn’t look away, no matter how hard he tried. He moved his hand slightly to reach for his glass of water but the glass fell and the water spilt over the electrical equipment near Narcissus which started a small fire. Not knowing what was happening around him, Narcissus kept staring at his picture while the fire grew and spread all around him until his whole house had caught alight. Narcissus died in the fire because he wasn’t able to stop admiring himself.

I used Photoshop to edit two photos of Narcissus which I found on the internet using Google images.

The first photo is of Narcissus on his Mac. (The picture of Narcissus and the picture of the Mac I got off Google images).

The second photo I used the same photo of both Narcissus and the Mac but I deleted the background and used one of my own photos instead. The photo I used I took back in 2010.

The reason I decided to edit photos instead of making an animated video or anything else is because on xtranormal.com there are only certain things you can make the characters do and there isn’t a background of the interior of a house with a laptop. I thought it was best to edit two photos and have text because recreating a small fire in my halls really wasn’t an option, it would have been too dangerous.


Music in the video I made of Facebook is not my own, I do not take credit for it, I found it in this Ukrainian Cartoon that I used to watch as a child. After I looked on the internet for three hours I still don’t know who the original composer is or what the song it called. So this is the reference from the Ukrainian Cartoon: Vladimir Dahno. (2011). Как казаки невест выручали.1973. Available: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M56GIN7CMhw&feature=related. Last accessed 24th Feb 2012.

  1. this is soooo funny! thanks Mosh for making me laugh today! 🙂

  1. February 26th, 2012
  2. February 26th, 2012

Leave a Reply

